theyflysohigh : Steve Marsh

Welcome to the Private memorabilia collection of 'theyflysohigh'

Insert body text here ...

Insert body text here ...

Banner Hammers Logo theyflysohigh Team groupings camera Report Moore and Eusebio BBC Sportsview Fade

BBC Sportsview Personality of the Year 1966 ...

On Sunday December 15, 2013 the BBC held its 60th edition of Sports Personality of the Year. The roll call of previous winners reads like an encyclopaedia of British sporting successes over the last six decades. The winners list is framed by the first, Chris Chataway the athlete in 1954, to the most recent Sir Bradley Wiggins and this years winner Andy Murray. Sandwiched between them is a host of sporting superstars, including West Ham’s greatest, Bobby Moore.  

BBC Sportsview Team Award 1965 Bobby Moore Sports Personality 66_01_01 WHU v. Forest programme

In 1966 England captained by Moore won football’s premier tournament the FIFA World Cup. That unforgettable triumph, topped by Moore’s selection as “Player of the World“ awarded as the Best Player in The World Cup 1966, helped propel him to the title of BBC "Sportsview Personality of the Year" in 1966.


Appropriately, Bobby was presented with the iconic trophy by another big star from the 1966 World Cup, Eusebio of Portugal the tournament’s top goal scorer.

Geoff Hurst Third

In fact West Ham dominated the individual awards as team mate Geoff Hurst finished third in the voting. Unbelievable to think not one but two West Ham players in the top three of the BBC’s Sports Personality of the Year Award!


The 1966 World Cup triumph left an indelible mark in the memory of the British sporting public. As for the runner-up in the individual awards, it was Barry Briggs the speedway rider.

Bobby Moore and Eusebio

Moore with trophy 01




Bobby Returns in 1970

Four years’ later after Mexico’s 1970 World Cup Bobby Moore was back in the BBC studios for the 1970 awards. 1970 was a fantastic year for Moore as he proved on the Mexican stage. Despite England’s quarter-final exit, the voting public remembered Moore’s superb performances especially against the World Cup winners, Brazil, on that hot June afternoon in Guadalajara. Not surprisingly Moore was again voted into the top three of the individual awards. Unfortunately this time he had to settle for third place behind winner Henry Cooper the heavyweight boxer, and Tony Jacklin the golfer.  

West Ham No Strangers to the BBC’s Sporting Awards

A year earlier it was another big night for the West Ham United players and officials when the BBC staged their annual "Sportsview" awards on December 16, 1965.

Bobby Moore had the pleasure of accepting two trophies on behalf of the Hammers.


The "Team Award" went to the players of West Ham United in recognition of their success against TSV Munich 1860 in the European Cup Winners Cup final seven months earlier.

According to football commentators the 1965 Wembley performance was one of the very best games to have been played at the Twin Towers.


The second; a medallion awarded to the club by the UNESCO Council of Sport and Physical Recreation for 'Fair play'.

The latter was handed over by the President of TSV Munich 1860, and he was accompanied by the skipper of the West German club – Rudi Brunnemeier.


Bobby Moore visited Paris in the autumn to receive his individual medallion from UNESCO.  


Filmstrip 1970




A few weeks prior to the BBC’s awards Bobby narrowly missed out on topping the poll for the European Footballer of the Year award. The winner was West Germany’s Gerd Muller who polled 77 votes to beat Bobby by seven votes.

"In third place... England's football captain Bobby Moore

Moore with UNESCO

John Sissons, Geoff Hurst, Alan Sealey, Martin Peters, Rudi Brunnemeier (TSV Munich 1860 captain), Jim Standen, Bobby Moore,

Ken Brown, Bill Jenkins, Joe Kirkup, Johnny Byrne, Albert Walker and  Peter Brabrook

Bobby Moore inspects the UNESCO Medallion together with the President of TSV Munich 1860 and Rudi Brunnemeier

UNESCO Fair Play

Players from both West Ham United and TSV Munich 1860, along with Hungarian Referee Istvan Zsolt received this

UNESCO Pierre de Coubertin Fair Play medallion

by Roger Hillier

Filmstrip Player of the World Cup 1966 2

Player of the World

Awarded as the

Best Player

in the World Cup 1966




Newspaper coverage courtesy of Richard Miller

Articles 12 Days of Christmas Forgotten Cup Final